Programme 2020

Download as PDF

Tuesday, 6 October 2020 – Pre-Conference Programme

15.00-15.50  PhD Colloquium Session 1

Chairs: Ardita Driza-Maurer, Iuliia Krivonosova

  • Verifying the Security of Electronic Voting Protocols – Morten Rotvold Solberg
  • Development of a Model for a Secured Voting Framework Using Timed Coloured Petri Nets – Adeoye Olayinka Olaoluwa

16.00-17.00 PhD Colloquium Session 2 

  • Essays on Internet voting implementation in legally binding elections – Iuliia Krivonosova
  • E-stonia: from e-government to e-democracy. Social transformation towards a digital society – Oliwia Kuban
  • Implementing Internet voting: does the type of regime matter? – Ekaterina Fedko

17.10-18.00 PhD Colloquium Session 3 

  • Verifiable public credentials for stronger end-to-end verifiability – Sevdenur Baloglu
  • Pin-Based JCJ Voting Scheme – Ehsan Estaji

Wednesday, 7 October 2020 – Main Conference Programme 

15.00 Opening of the Conference – Robert Krimmer and Melanie Volkamer

16.00 – 16.45 Session 1: Manipulation, Audits and Veto

Chair: Bernhard Beckert

  • Shifting the Balance-of-Power in STV Elections – Michelle Blom, Andrew Conway, Peter Stuckey and Vanessa Teague
  • Random errors are not necessarily politically neutral – Michelle Blom, Andrew Conway, Peter Stuckey, Vanessa Teague and Damjan Vukcevic
  • Post-Quantum Anonymous Veto Networks – Jintai Ding, Johannes Mueller, Peter Y.A. Ryan, Vonn Kee Wong and Doug Emery

17:00 – 17.45 Session 2: Impacts and Failures of Internet Voting 

Chair: Mihkel Solvak

  • Enhancing Self-determination and Capacity-Building: Online Voting in the Indigenous Communities of Canada, Australia and the Unites States – Maximilian Hee
  • Tripped at the finishing line: the Åland Islands internet voting project – David Duenas-Cid, Iuliia Krivonosova, Radu Antonio Serrano-Iova, Marlon Freire and Robert Krimmer
  • Reviewing the Costs of Multichannel Elections: Estonian Parliamentary Elections 2019 – Iuliia Krivonosova, David Duenas-Cid and Robert Krimmer

18.00 – 18.45 Session 3: Voting Technology Developments in Estonia and France and COVID-19 Pandemic impacts in Ukraine

Chair: Beata Martin-Rozumilowicz

  • Planning the next steps for Estonian Internet voting – Jan Willemson, Sven Heiberg and Kristjan Krips
  • Some Things you may Want to Know about Electronic Voting in France – Chantal Enguehard and Camille Noûs
  • Cyberattacks, Foreign Interference and Digital Infrastructure Robustness: How to Conduct Secure Elections in the Transatlantic Community Amid the Coronavirus Pandemic – Beata Martin-Rozumilowicz and David Levine

Thursday, 8 October 2020 – Main Conference Programme

15.00 – 15.45 Session 4: Legal Aspects and Evaluation of Internet Voting Experiences

Chair: David Duenas-Cid

  • Secure Online Voting for Legislative Divisions – Aleksander Essex and Nicole Goodman
  • E-Voting System evaluation based on the Council of Europe recommendations: nVotes – David Yeregui Marcos Del Blanco, David Duenas-Cid and Hector Alaiz Moreton
  • My vote, my (personal) data: remote electronic voting and the General Data Protection Regulation – Adrià Rodríguez-Pérez

16.00 – 16.45 Session 5: Best Practices and Usable Coercion Resistance

Chair: Johannes Müller

  • CHVote: Sixteen Best Practices and Lessons Learned – Rolf Haenni, Eric Dubuis, Reto Koenig and Philipp Locher
  • Human Factors in Coercion Resistant Internet Voting – A Review of Existing Solutions and Open Challenges – Oksana Kulyk and Stephan Neumann
  • Revisiting Practical and Usable Coercion-Resistant Remote E-Voting – Ehsan Estaji, Thomas Haines, Kristian Gjosteen, Peter Roenne, Peter Y. A. Ryan and Najmeh Soroush

17.00 – 17.45 Session 6: Developments in Technology in Elections from European Examples

Chair: Stéphanie Planté

  • The Election Information System in Finland in 2035 – A Lifecycle Study – Juha Mäenalusta and Heini Huotarinen
  • Pushing water uphill; Renewal of Dutch electoral process – Peter Castenmiller and Arjan Dikmans
  • Blockchain-Enabled Electronic Voting: Experiments in Ukraine – Dmytro Khutkyy

18.00 – 18.45 Session 7: Schemes and Attacks

Chair: Oksana Kulyk

  • Privacy-preserving Dispute Resolution in The Improved Bingo Voting – Rosario Giustolisi and Alessandro Bruni
  • Ballot Logistics: Tracking Paper-based Ballots Using Cryptography – Kristian Gjøsteen, Clémentine Gritti and Kelsey N. Moran
  • How to fake zero-knowledge proofs, again – Veronique Cortier, Pierrick Gaudry and Quentin Yang

Friday, 9 October 2020 – Main Conference Programme

15.00 – 15.45 Session 8: Proposed Effective Responses to Technology in Elections Problems

Chair: Oliver Spycher

  • Verify My Vote: Voter Experience – Mohammed Alsadi and Steve Schneider
  • You can do RLAs for IRV: The Process Pilot of Risk-Limiting Audits for the San Francisco District Attorney 2019 Instant Runoff Vote – Michelle Blom, Andrew Conway, Dan King, Laurent Sandrolini, Philip Stark, Peter J. Stuckey and Vanessa Teague
  • Effective Cybersecurity Awareness Training for Election Officials – Carsten Schuermann, Lisa Hartmann Jensen and Rósa María Sigbjörnsdóttir

16.00 – 16.45 Session 9: Confidence and Costs

Chair: Magdalena Musial-Karg

  • The Oxymoron of the Internet Voting in Illiberal and Hybrid Political Contexts – Bogdan Romanov and Yury Kabanov
  • Does vote verification work: usage and impact of confidence building technology in Internet voting – Mihkel Solvak
  • Internet Voting and Expatriate Voter Turnout – Micha Germann

17.00 – 17.45 Session 10: Audits and Verification

Chair: Ralf Küesters

  • Bayesian audits are average but risk-limiting audits are above average – Amanda Glazer, Jacob Spertus and Philip Stark
  • A Unified Evaluation of Two-Candidate Ballot-Polling Election Auditing Methods – Zhuoqun Huang, Ronald L. Rivest, Philp Stark, Vanessa Teague and Damjan Vukcevic
  • Towards Model Checking of Voting Protocols in Uppaal – Wojtek Jamroga, Yan Kim, Damian Kurpiewski and Peter Y. A. Ryan

18.00 – 18.30 Demo Session

Chairs: Peter Roenne and Stéphane Glondu

  • Polys Blockchain-Based Voting System – Aleksandr Korunov, Aleksandr Sazonov and Petr Murzin
  • Vocdoni – Making governance sovereign – Roger Baig and Pau Escrich

18.30 – 19.00 Rump Session

All times given in CEST.